UNESCO announces laureates of 21st International Awards For Women in Science

0 Comment(s)Print E-mail Xinhua, February 12, 2019
Adjust font size:

Paris-based UN Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) on Monday unveiled the list of five laureates of the 2019 L'Oreal-UNESCO Women in Science Awards, an initiative that "honours outstanding women scientists."

The five laureates are Najat Aoun Saliba from Lebanon, Japanese Professor Maki Kawai, Argentina's Karen Hallberg, Claire Voisin from France and the American Ingrid Daubechies.

The 2019 edition of the awards extends to two more research areas, mathematics and computer science.

"These exceptional women are recognized for the excellence of their research in the fields of material science, mathematics and computer science," UNESCO said in a statement.

"Each laureate receive 100,000 (112,730 U.S. dollars) and their achievements will be celebrated alongside those of 15 promising young women scientists from around the world at an awards ceremony on March 14 at UNESCO's Headquarters in Paris," it said.

Since 1998, the L'Oreal Foundation, in partnership with UNESCO, has honored five exceptional female researchers every year, each from the following regions: Africa & the Arab States, Asia-Pacific, Europe, Latin America, and North America. (1 euro = 1.127 U.S. dollar)

Follow China.org.cn on Twitter and Facebook to join the conversation.
ChinaNews App Download
Print E-mail Bookmark and Share

Go to Forum >>0 Comment(s)

No comments.

Add your comments...

  • User Name Required
  • Your Comment
  • Enter the words you see:   
    Racist, abusive and off-topic comments may be removed by the moderator.
Send your storiesGet more from China.org.cnMobileRSSNewsletter