Four Elected Members of NPC Standing Committee

The fifth plenary meeting of the Fourth Session of the Ninth National People's Congress, convened here Thursday morning, elected four people as members of the NPC Standing Committee.

The presidium of the current NPC session announced the election result, saying that Wang Xueping, Ho Iat Seng, Jia Zhijie and Sheng Huaren were elected members of the NPC Standing Committee.

Communist Party of China (CPC) and state leaders Jiang Zemin, Li Peng, Zhu Rongji, Li Ruihuan, Hu Jintao, Wei Jianxing and Li Lanqing were present at the meeting and cast votes.

Wang Xue Ping, of Li nationality, was born in April of 1938. He now is the vice-chairman of the Standing Committee of the Hainan Provincial People's Congress.

Ho Iat Seng was born in Macao in June, 1957. He now is a member of the economic committee of the government of Macao Special Administrative Region and the executive director and general manager of Ho Tin Industrial Co., Ltd.

Jia Zhijie, a senior engineer, served as secretary of the Hubei Provincial Committee of the CPC and governor of the province in 1994, and was secretary of the CPC Hubei Provincial Committee between February, 1995 and December, 2000. He was born in December, 1935.

Sheng Huaren, a senior economist, was born in September, 1935. He was the former general manager of China Petrochemical Corp. and minister in charge of the State Economic and Trade Commission.

He Luli, vice-chairwoman of the NPC Standing Committee, presided over Thursday's plenary meeting which was attended by 2, 826 NPC deputies.

(Xinhua 03/15/2001)