Greater Mekong Subregion Economic Cooperation

(The Belt and Road Initiative)

Updated:2017-04-20 |

Greater Mekong Subregion Economic Cooperation


The Greater Mekong Subegion (GMS) Economic Cooperation is a subregional economic cooperation mechanism involving the six countries located at least partly within the river basin – China, Myanmar, Laos, Thailand, Cambodia and Vietnam. Established in 1992, it is designed to strengthen subregional economic ties and promote economic and social development in the subregion.


The program has been sponsored, coordinated and funded mainly by the Asian Development Bank. Its highest decision-making organ is the GMS Summit of Leaders, held every three years and hosted by a member state on the basis of alphabetical rotation. Policy direction for the program is discussed at the Ministerial Conference, under which meetings of senior officials and a range of working groups and forums in priority sectors are convened.


Since 1992, substantial progress has been achieved in implementing GMS projects in key areas such as transport, energy, power, infrastructure, agriculture, tourism, information and communications, environment, human resources development, and economic corridor development.


China attaches great importance to the GMS economic cooperation, and actively participates in the planning and implementation of projects at different levels and in various fields, in an effort to improve the well-being of all member states.