Central Asia Regional Economic Cooperation

(The Belt and Road Initiative)

Updated:2017-04-20 | By:China.org.cn

Central Asia Regional Economic Cooperation


The Central Asia Regional Economic Cooperation (CAREC) program was established in 1996 by the Asian Development Bank and upgraded to ministerial level in 2002. It has grown into a major mechanism for economic cooperation in Central Asia, with an institutional framework of the Ministerial Conference, the Senior Officials Meeting, coordinating committees in priority areas, and regional business roundtables.


CAREC envisions accelerated growth and poverty reduction through cooperation among member countries in transport, trade, energy and other key sectors.


CAREC countries include Afghanistan, Azerbaijan, China, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Mongolia, Pakistan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan and Uzbekistan.


The Asian Development Bank, World Bank, International Monetary Fund, United Nations Development Programme, European Bank for Reconstruction and Development, Islamic Development Bank, and some bilateral assistance organizations in developed countries have supported projects as partners under the CAREC program.