Cooperation Between China and Central and Eastern European Countries

(Foreign Affairs in the New Era)

Updated:2020-01-19 |

Cooperation Between China and Central and Eastern European Countries

The mechanism for cooperation between China and the Central and Eastern European (CEE) countries, commonly known as "16+1," has been established to facilitate collaboration between China and the 16 CEE countries on issues of common concern. The 17 countries agree to respect each other's sovereignty, independence, and territorial integrity, broaden understanding of each other's approach to development, and work to realize goals under the "16+1" framework in line with their own specific needs and priorities and based on equality, consultation, mutual complementarity, and cooperation for mutual benefit.

An innovative framework for sub- regional cooperation, established in 2012, the "16+1" is an important component of the entire cooperation between China and Europe. It opens new avenues for increased engagement between traditionally friendly countries. It is a new platform that focuses on South-South cooperation with the feature of South-North cooperation.

Thanks to the joint endeavors of the participants, the "16+1" has grown into an omni-dimensional, wide-ranging, and multi- channel framework that is harvesting fruitful results. A more effective alignment between the China-proposed Belt and Road Initiative and the "16+1" framework will bring benefits to both China and the CEE countries.