The Shanghai Spirit

(the Spirit of the Chinese Nation)

Updated:2020-09-30 |

The Shanghai Spirit

On June 15, 2001, China, Russia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan and Uzbekistan announced the establishment of a permanent inter-governmental international organization: the Shanghai Cooperation Organization. In the course of their cooperation, these six member countries have developed a spirit, known as the “Shanghai Spirit,” which features mutual trust, mutual benefit, equality, consultation, respect for cultural diversity, and pursuit of common development. This is a valuable cultural resource created by the countries concerned, which embodies the common wish of their peoples for peace and development.