Fast Facts
Land and Natural Resources
Administrative Divisions and Cities
Population and Ethnic Groups
Political System and State Structure
Political Parties and Other Organizations
China and the World
New and High-Technology Industries
Communications and Transportation
Finance and Insurance
Opening up to the Outside World
Environmental Protection
Science and Technology
Sports and Physical Fitness

Democratic Parties

Besides the CPC, China has eight other political parties: the Revolutionary Committee of the Chinese Kuomintang, the China Democratic League, the China Democratic National Construction Association, the China Association for Promoting Democracy, the Chinese Peasants and Workers Democratic Party, the China Zhi Gong Dang, the Jiusan Society, and the Taiwan Democratic Self-government League.


These parties all support the CPC's political leadership, which was the historic choice they made during the long years when they cooperated and fought side by side with the CPC. They enjoy political freedom, organizational independence and lawful equality within the vested scope of the Constitution. The basic principle of the cooperation between the CPC and the other parties is long-term coexistence, mutual supervision, sincere treatment with each other and sharing each other's weal and woe.


Neither out of office nor opposition parties, rather, these parties fully participate in the political life of the nation. Many of their members hold posts in the standing committees of the people's congresses, CPPCC committees, government organs, and economic, cultural, educational, scientific and technological,departments. For instance, the chairpersons (or honorary chairpersons) of the eight parties' central committees are concurrently vice-chairpersons of the NPC Standing Committee or the CPPCC National Committee. With a combined number of members exceeding 600,000, they have set up branches and grassroots organizations in all the provinces, autonomous regions and municipalities directly under the Central Government, and large and medium cities.  


Opening ceremony of the Fifth Session of the 10th Chinese People's Political Consultative Conference (CPPCC), March 3, 2007, Beijing


The Eight Democratic Parties



Date of  Foundation

Main Constituents

Chairperson of Central Committee

China Revolutionary Committee of the Kuomintang

January 1948

Former Kuomintang members and people having historical   connections with the Kuomintang

He Luli

China Democratic League

October 1941

Higher and mid-level intellectuals

Jiang Shusheng

China Democratic National Construction Association

December 1945

Specialists, scholars and other people in the economic field

Cheng Siwei

China Association for the Promotion of Democracy

December 1945

Intellectuals working in educational, cultural, scientific, publishing and other fields

Xu Jialu

Chinese Peasants and Workers’ Democratic Party

August 1930

Higher and mid-level intellectuals in medical, cultural, educational, and science and technology fields

Jiang Zhenghua

China Zhi Gong Dang

October 1925

Returned overseas Chinese, relatives of overseas Chinese, and representative individuals and specialists and scholars with overseas connections

Luo Haocai

Jiusan Society

December 1944

Higher and mid-level intellectuals working in science and technology, culture, education, and public health

Han Qide

Taiwan Democratic Self-government League

November 1947

People born or with family roots in Taiwan Province currently residing on the mainland

Lin Wenyi


Copyright © All Rights Reserved E-mail: