Ronaldo, Modric & Salah nominated for FIFA best player award

0 Comment(s)Print E-mail Xinhua, September 4, 2018
Adjust font size:

Lionel Messi failed to make the shortlist for world player of the year on Monday for the first time since 2006, with Luka Modric, Mohamed Salah and Cristiano Ronaldo making the list.

Messi and Ronaldo have been the only winners of FIFA's main individual award since 2008.

Modric made the FIFA Best shortlist after helping Real Madrid to a third straight Champions League title in May and then leading Croatia to the World Cup final.

Ronaldo joined Juventus from Real Madrid after the Champions League final win over Liverpool.

Salah was injured in the Champions League final but was recognized for his Premier League record 32 goals for Liverpool.

The women's player shortlist is headed by five-time winner Marta of Brazil. The Orlando Pride player is up against Lyon teammates Ada Hegerberg of Norway and Dzsenifer Marozsan of Germany.

In terms of of the men's coach of the year award, Didier Deschamps, who led France to the World Cup title, was nominated alongside Zlatko Dalic of Croatia. Zinedine Zidane, who quit Real Madrid after a third straight Champions League title, completes the shortlist.

The three coaches in contention for the women's game award are Asako Takakura, who led Japan to the Asian Games title last week, Reynald Pedros of France and Sarina Wiegman of the Netherlands.

Follow on Twitter and Facebook to join the conversation.
ChinaNews App Download
Print E-mail Bookmark and Share

Go to Forum >>0 Comment(s)

No comments.

Add your comments...

  • User Name Required
  • Your Comment
  • Enter the words you see:   
    Racist, abusive and off-topic comments may be removed by the moderator.
Send your storiesGet more from