Asia's best honoured in spectacular ceremony in Muscat

0 Comment(s)Print E-mail, November 29, 2018
Adjust font size:

After another year of remarkable progress for Asian football, the Asian Football Confederation (AFC) celebrated the Continent's most exceptional achievements in a dazzling 2018 AFC Annual Awards ceremony in Muscat, Oman on Wednesday.

Al Sadd's Abdelkarim Hassan claimed the coveted AFC Player of the Year Award while China PR's Wang Shuang clinched the top accolade in the women's category.

Wang, who joined her illustrious China PR compatriots Ma Xiaoxu and Bai Jie in winning the award, said: "I would like to thank the AFC for this remarkable award. It really means a lot to win this. I want to thank my country, the Chinese Football Association and my national teammates for putting their faith in me and always encouraging me to dream big."

Kashima Antlers' Go Oiwa who guided his side to their maiden AFC Champions League title earlier this month was duly rewarded with the 2018 AFC Men's Coach of the Year award, while AFC Women's Asian Cup Jordan 2018 winning coach Asako Takakura confirmed her legendary status in women's football with her sixth AFC Women's Coach of the Year award. 

Islamic Republic of Iran's status as a global force in world futsal was further underlined after Ali Asghar Hasanzadeh, who was part of the IR Iran side which finished third in the 2016 FIFA Futsal World Cup, landed his fourth AFC Futsal Player of the Year accolade.

Former AFC Acting President Zhang Jilong was bestowed with the Continent's highest accolade – the AFC Diamond of Asia Award – in recognition for his incredible service and leadership over the last four decades to Chinese and Asian football.

AFC Annual Awards 2018 Roll of Honour

AFC Diamond of Asia: Zhang Jilong (CHI)

AFC President's Special Recognition Award:

Futoshi Ikeda (JPN)

Wild Boars FC (THA)

AFC Member Association of the Year:

Inspiring: Japan Football Association

Developing: DPR Korea Football Association

Aspiring: Mongolian Football Federation

AFC President Recognition Award for Grassroots Football:

Inspiring Member Association: Chinese Football Association

Developing Member Association: Football Association of Singapore

Aspiring Member Association: Palestine Football Association

AFC Futsal Player of the Year: Ali Asghar Hasanzadeh (IRN)

AFC Coach of the Year:

Women: Asako Takakura (JPN)

Men: Go Oiwa (JPN)

AFC Women's Player of the Year: Wang Shuang (CHI)

AFC Player of the Year: Abdelkarim Hassan (QAT)

Follow on Twitter and Facebook to join the conversation.
ChinaNews App Download
Print E-mail Bookmark and Share

Go to Forum >>0 Comment(s)

No comments.

Add your comments...

  • User Name Required
  • Your Comment
  • Enter the words you see:   
    Racist, abusive and off-topic comments may be removed by the moderator.
Send your storiesGet more from