Spanish driver Sainz wins third Dakar Rally title

0 Comment(s)Print E-mail Xinhua, January 18, 2020
Adjust font size:

Spanish driver Carlos Sainz won the Dakar Rally for the third time on Friday.

In his X-raid Mini, the 57-year-old crossed the line in the 12th and final stage 6 minutes 21 seconds ahead of nearest challenger and reigning champion Nasser al-Attiyah of Qatar.

Sainz has now won the Dakar Rally with three different manufacturers, having previously triumphed with Volkswagen in 2010 and Peugeot in 2018.

Stephane Peterhansel was third at 9 minutes 58 seconds behind in his Mini. Both the Frenchman and Sainz won four stages in the 12-day, 7,800-kilometer race.

Ricky Brabec triumphed in the motorbike section for Honda, becoming the first US rider to win the gruelling race.

Two-time Formula One champion Fernando Alonso finished 13th on his Dakar debut, nearly five hours behind the winner. 

Follow on Twitter and Facebook to join the conversation.
ChinaNews App Download
Print E-mail Bookmark and Share

Go to Forum >>0 Comment(s)

No comments.

Add your comments...

  • User Name Required
  • Your Comment
  • Enter the words you see:   
    Racist, abusive and off-topic comments may be removed by the moderator.
Send your storiesGet more from