Bangladeshi PM Hasina sworn in for 3rd straight term

0 Comment(s)Print E-mail Xinhua, January 7, 2019
Adjust font size:

Bangladeshi Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina was sworn in on Monday for her third straight five-year term.

Hasina took the oath of office about a week after her ruling Bangladesh Awami League party won a landslide victory in the national election marred by violence.

President Abdul Hamid also swore in 24 cabinet ministers, 19 ministers of state and three deputy ministers at the ceremony at the presidential residence in Dhaka.

Ex-Prime Minister Khaleda Zia's opposition alliance leaders were absent from the swearing-in ceremony.

Seven MPs from Khaleda Zia's Bangladesh Nationalist Party (BNP)-led major opposition alliance skipped the oath-taking ceremony of new lawmakers.

Hasina's Awami League now forms its straight third five-year term government in a row since January 2009 after ruling the country in 1996-2001.

The BNP rejected the election results, alleging various irregularities.

Joint General Secretary of Bangladesh Awami League Jahangir Kabir Nanak said the election was held in free, fair and peaceful manner with the participation of all parties. 

Follow on Twitter and Facebook to join the conversation.
ChinaNews App Download
Print E-mail Bookmark and Share

Go to Forum >>0 Comment(s)

No comments.

Add your comments...

  • User Name Required
  • Your Comment
  • Enter the words you see:   
    Racist, abusive and off-topic comments may be removed by the moderator.
Send your storiesGet more from