Lithuania completes its first National Cyber Security Strategy

0 Comment(s)Print E-mail Xinhua, June 27, 2018
Adjust font size:

VILNIUS, June 27 (Xinhua) -- Lithuania's Ministry of National Defense completed the country's first National Cyber Security Strategy, aimed at preventing cyber incidents in critical infrastructures and other sectors, Edvinas Kerza, vice minister of defense, said on Wednesday.

"The strategy is ready. Signed by the minister, it will be submitted to the government's approval," Kerza was quoted as saying by local media.

It is stated in the five-year strategy that the number of cyber incidents increased in Lithuania in recent years, with most concerning incidents revealed in critical infrastructures, such as public sector and energy, airports, media institutions and objects of national security importance.

Five main goals are listed out in the strategy: to increase Lithuania's cyber immunity and cyber defense capabilities, to combat crimes in the cyber space more effectively, to promote the culture of cyber security and encourage development of innovations, to develop cooperation between the private and public sector, to strengthen international cooperation.

Meanwhile, Lithuania's parliament adopted on Tuesday a new Law on Cyber Security, defining the obligations and responsibilities of various institutions as regards cyber security. The provisions of the law are harmonized with the EU directives.

Earlier this week, A Declaration of Intent on development of the Lithuanian-initiated EU Cyber Rapid Response Force teams was signed in Luxembourg.

"EU countries have not had the opportunity to address cyber incidents together so far, and in the meanwhile, the attacks are not limited by country borders. Lithuania has taken up the role of leadership in proposing first a practical solution in strengthening collective defense in cyber space and countering threats in a new dimension," Minister of Defense Raimundas Karoblis was quoted as saying in a ministry's statement.

The Declaration of Intent was signed by Lithuania, Estonia, Croatia, the Netherlands, Romania and Spain, while four more countries will sign by the end of the year. Enditem

Follow on Twitter and Facebook to join the conversation.
ChinaNews App Download
Print E-mail Bookmark and Share

Go to Forum >>0 Comment(s)

No comments.

Add your comments...

  • User Name Required
  • Your Comment
  • Enter the words you see:   
    Racist, abusive and off-topic comments may be removed by the moderator.
Send your storiesGet more from