Somalia bans travelers from COVID-19-hit nations

0 Comment(s)Print E-mail Xinhua, March 15, 2020
Adjust font size:

MOGADISHU, March 15 (Xinhua) -- Somali government has temporarily banned travelers from four countries which have been ravaged by coronavirus as part of measures to contain the spread of the deadly novel coronavirus COVID-19.

The Somalia Civil Aviation Authority (SCAA) said in a statement on Saturday that all passengers originating from China, Iran, Republic of Korea and Italy and transiting one of those countries for the last 14 days will not be allowed to enter the country.

"Passengers originating from China, Iran, Republic of Korea and Italy are not allowed to enter Somalia whether citizens or foreigners," the aviation authority said.

"In case of suspected coronavirus during the flight inbound to Somalia all airmen are required to report immediately by radio as early as possible before arrival to air traffic control and comply with health screening of passengers entering all international airports in Somalia," it added.

According to the SCAA, the measure was taken to prevent the introduction, spread of the deadly novel coronavirus. Enditem

Follow on Twitter and Facebook to join the conversation.
ChinaNews App Download
Print E-mail Bookmark and Share

Go to Forum >>0 Comment(s)

No comments.

Add your comments...

  • User Name Required
  • Your Comment
  • Enter the words you see:   
    Racist, abusive and off-topic comments may be removed by the moderator.
Send your storiesGet more from