Estonia presents Arctic Council observer application to int'l partners

0 Comment(s)Print E-mail Xinhua, December 1, 2020
Adjust font size:

TALLINN, Nov. 30 (Xinhua) -- Estonia on Monday hosted a virtual event following its application on Nov. 9 for observer status on the Arctic Council, a high-level intergovernmental forum promoting cooperation in the region.

Participants, speaking online from Norway or at the event scene in Tallinn, discussed ways Estonia could contribute to the region's sustainable development through new digital and smart solutions.

In her opening remarks, Estonian President Kersti Kaljulaid said that digital development and climate change know no borders, and "what happens in the Arctic doesn't stay in the Arctic."

Estonia, the northernmost non-Arctic country, is directly affected by environmental changes in the Arctic and can contribute to the region's sustainable development through its long-term experience in polar research, clean technology innovation, knowledge of smart technology and attention to indigenous people, Kaljulaid said in a statement.

She lauded "the way, in the Arctic Council, nations are able to put away our differences of opinion, our differing understanding of progressive societal models, and work together. To understand, to preserve and therefore serve humanity."

"Developments in the Arctic have a direct impact on the entire northern region and in fact the whole world," said Estonian Foreign Minister Urmas Reinsalu during a panel discussion.

He noted that the Arctic Council observer state status could enable Estonian scientists and companies to contribute to finding innovative and sustainable solutions for the Arctic region, which would, in turn, bring excellent know-how back to Estonia.

Formally established in 1996, the Arctic Council promotes cooperation, coordination and interaction among the Arctic states, indigenous peoples and other inhabitants on common issues, particularly sustainable development and environmental protection.

The member countries are Canada, Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway, Russia, Sweden and the United States.

Thirteen non-Arctic states have been approved as observers to the Arctic Council. These are France, Germany, Italy, Japan, the Netherlands, China, Poland, India, South Korea, Singapore, Spain, Switzerland and the United Kingdom. The observers also include non-governmental, intergovernmental and interparliamentary organizations. Enditem

Follow on Twitter and Facebook to join the conversation.
ChinaNews App Download
Print E-mail Bookmark and Share

Go to Forum >>0 Comment(s)

No comments.

Add your comments...

  • User Name Required
  • Your Comment
  • Enter the words you see:   
    Racist, abusive and off-topic comments may be removed by the moderator.
Send your storiesGet more from