Indonesia expands entry ban on foreigners over Omicron variant

0 Comment(s)Print E-mail Xinhua, November 30, 2021
Adjust font size:

JAKARTA, Nov. 29 (Xinhua) -- The Indonesian government has expanded the entry ban on foreigners with travel histories in 10 countries and China's Hong Kong in the last 14 days, in order to prevent spread of the more contagious Omicron variant of the COVID-19 virus, the Directorate General of Immigration said on Monday.

The 10 countries are South Africa, Botswana, Angola, Zambia, Zimbabwe, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Eswatini, and Lesotho.

"This policy will be effective from Nov. 30, 2021," said the agency.

The Southeast Asian country has also suspended and limited the issuance of visit and stay visas for residents of the 11 areas.

Meanwhile, the quarantine period for international visitors from other areas has been extended from three to seven days, Coordinating Minister for Maritime and Investment Affairs Luhut Binsar Pandjaitan said.

"The government has taken steps to limit arrivals from abroad and will improve the genome sequencing measure to detect this Omicron variant," Pandjaitan added.

A 14-day quarantine is also applied to Indonesians with travel histories in the cited places having reported the Omicron variant. Enditem

Follow on Twitter and Facebook to join the conversation.
ChinaNews App Download
Print E-mail Bookmark and Share

Go to Forum >>0 Comment(s)

No comments.

Add your comments...

  • User Name Required
  • Your Comment
  • Enter the words you see:   
    Racist, abusive and off-topic comments may be removed by the moderator.
Send your storiesGet more from