About Israel

0 CommentsPrint E-mail China.org.cn, September 7, 2009
Adjust font size:

Country name: The State of Israel

Location: Middle East, bordering the Mediterranean Sea, between Egypt and Lebanon

Government type: parliamentary democracy

Administrative divisions: 6 districts (mehozot, singular - mehoz); Central, Haifa, Jerusalem, Northern, Southern, Tel Aviv

National holiday: Independence Day, 14 May. Israel declared independence on 14 May 1948, but the Jewish calendar is lunar and the holiday may occur in April or May.

Land area: 20,329 sq km; total area: 20,770 sq km

Population (2009 est.): 7,233,701 (growth rate: 1.6%); birth rate: 19.7/1000; infant mortality rate: 4.2/1000; life expectancy: 80.73; density per sq km: 319

Capital and largest city (2003 est.): Jerusalem, 695,500 Note: Israel proclaimed Jerusalem as its capital in 1950, but the U.S., like nearly all other countries, maintains its embassy in Tel Aviv.

Other large cities: Tel Aviv, 365,300; Haifa, 280,200

Monetary unit: Shekel

Flag description: white with a blue hexagram (six-pointed linear star) known as the Magen David (Shield of David) centered between two equal horizontal blue bands near the top and bottom edges of the flag.

National emblem:

President: Shimon Peres (2007)

Prime Minister: Benjamin Netanyahu (2009)


PrintE-mail Bookmark and Share


No comments.

Add your comments...

  • Your Name Required
  • Your Comment
  • Comments are moderated and generally will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive.
Send your storiesGet more from China.org.cnMobileRSSNewsletter