Lionel Messi wins Golden Ball award

0 Comment(s)Print E-mail Xinhua, July 14, 2014
Adjust font size:

James Rodriguez (L) and  Lionel Messi

Argentine star Lionel Messi won FIFA's Golden Ball award on Sunday.

Germany won 1-0 with substitute forward Mario Gotze scoring the winner in the 113rd minute.

Barcelona forward Messi beat off competition from German's Mats Hummels, Toni Kroos, Philipp Lahm and Thomas Muller, teammates Angel Di Maria and Javier Mascherano, as well as Brazil's Neymar, Netherlands winger Arjen Robben and James Rodriguez of Colombia, who were all named on the shortlist.

Messi became the best player of the 2014 World Cup with four goals and one assist to help his nation to their first World Cup final since 1990.

Following are the award winners of the FIFA World Cup by the FIFA Technical Study Group (TSG):

Golden Ball: Lionel Messi (Argentina)

Silver Ball: Thomas Muller (Germany)

Bronze Ball: Arjen Robben (Netherlands)

Golden Boot: James Rodriguez (Colombia)

Silver Boot: Thomas Muller (Germany)

Bronze Boot: Neymar (Brazil)

Golden Glove: Manuel Neuer (Germany)

Young Player Award: Paul Pogba (France)

FIFA Fair Play Trophy: Colombia

Follow on Twitter and Facebook to join the conversation.
Print E-mail Bookmark and Share

Go to Forum >>0 Comment(s)

No comments.

Add your comments...

  • User Name Required
  • Your Comment
  • Enter the words you see:   
    Racist, abusive and off-topic comments may be removed by the moderator.
Send your storiesGet more from