3 economists share 2022 Nobel Prize in Economics

0 Comment(s)Print E-mail Xinhua, October 11, 2022
Adjust font size:
Portraits of the 2022 Nobel laureates in Economic Sciences Ben S. Bernanke (L), Douglas W. Diamond (C) and Philip H. Dybvig are seen on a screen during the prize announcement in Stockholm, Sweden, Oct. 10, 2022. [Photo/Xinhua]

The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences has decided to award the 2022 Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel to Ben S. Bernanke, Douglas W. Diamond and Philip H. Dybvig "for research on banks and financial crises."

In a telephone interview on site, Diamond said the news "did come as a surprise." Talking about the current situation, he said: "We are certainly much better prepared today, compared with 2008 financial crisis."

He said that financial crises become worse when people lose faith in the financial system, and that banks should be prepared to ensure the stability of the financial sector.

The prize amount is 10 million Swedish kronor (about 880,000 U.S. dollars) and will be shared equally among the three laureates.

Follow China.org.cn on Twitter and Facebook to join the conversation.
ChinaNews App Download
Print E-mail Bookmark and Share

Go to Forum >>0 Comment(s)

No comments.

Add your comments...

  • User Name Required
  • Your Comment
  • Enter the words you see:   
    Racist, abusive and off-topic comments may be removed by the moderator.
Send your storiesGet more from China.org.cnMobileRSSNewsletter