Prime Minister Dr.D.M.Jayarathne

0 Comment(s)Print E-mail, May 23, 2013
Adjust font size:

Prime Minister Dr.D.M.Jayarathne

Prime Minister Dr.D.M.Jayarathne 

D.M Jayaratne,known as 'Di Mu', is the 20th Prime Minister of Sri Lanka. He was born on 4th June 1931 at Doluwa, Gampola in the District of Kandy.

He had his primary education at the village temple and at Doluwa Primary School. For secondary and higher education he attended Gampola Zahira College and Gandhi Vidyalaya, Kandy (Christian Missionary school) respectively.

Under the tutelage of the famous teacher, Stanley Gogerly, he studied Communism and was highly involved in the Communist Students Movement at Peradeniya University. After completing higher education at Gandhi College, he joined the staff of the same college where he served as a teacher for some time. His next assignment was in the Postal Department which he gave up as he entered to full-time politics.

Hon.Jayarane was one of the pioneers of Sri Lanka Freedom Party having joined the party as its 13th member under the guidance of the late Prime Minister S.W.R.D.Bandaranaike. In 1965 he was elected President of Kandy District Village Council Association from which position he was elevated to the Presidency of All Island Village Councils Federation.

He took to Parliamentary politics in 1970 having contested and elected MP for Gampola Constituency in which position he continued till 1977.From 1989 to 1994 he served in Parliament as an opposition member. At the General Elections held in 1994 he obtained the highest majority by any M.P. and was appointed Minister of Land, Agriculture and Forestry in the Cabinet of H.E. Chandrika Bandaranaike Kumaratunga.Following were the other portfolios he held during the last 10 years.

Print E-mail Bookmark and Share

Go to Forum >>0 Comment(s)

No comments.

Add your comments...

  • User Name Required
  • Your Comment
  • Enter the words you see:   
    Racist, abusive and off-topic comments may be removed by the moderator.
Send your storiesGet more from