15th Wenjin Book Award announces winners

0 Comment(s)Print E-mail Xinhua, September 10, 2020
Adjust font size:

A total of 15 titles have bagged the Wenjin Book Award, China's top-notch book honor, the National Library of China (NLC) announced Wednesday.

An omnibus by Zhang Guogang, a history professor at the prestigious Tsinghua University, is among the winners. The book combines the latest academic research with stories from the ancient Silk Road, vividly chronicling a solid account of Sino-West exchanges and interactions of 3,000 years.

A children's novel by the veteran author on military themes Qiu Shanshan is also one of the winners. The story revolves around a pup and a young soldier on the Tibetan Plateau, delving into issues about personal growth.

Instituted by the NLC in 2004, the Wenjin Book Award aims to promote high-quality books among readers and encourage reading in China. It mainly covers three categories, namely humanities, popular science, and children's books.

This year is the 15th edition of the award, and a total of 1,890 books were on its long list of selections.

Wednesday also marked the 111th anniversary of the founding of the library. 

Follow China.org.cn on Twitter and Facebook to join the conversation.
ChinaNews App Download
Print E-mail Bookmark and Share

Go to Forum >>0 Comment(s)

No comments.

Add your comments...

  • User Name Required
  • Your Comment
  • Enter the words you see:   
    Racist, abusive and off-topic comments may be removed by the moderator.
Send your storiesGet more from China.org.cnMobileRSSNewsletter