Wu Den-yih elected Kuomintang leader

0 Comment(s)Print E-mail Xinhua, May 21, 2017
Adjust font size:

Wu Den-yih was elected Kuomintang's chairperson on Saturday. [File Photo]

Wu Den-yih was elected Kuomintang's chairperson on Saturday by garnering more than 52 percent of all valid votes, the KMT announced.

The polls opened at 8 a.m. and closed at 4 p.m Saturday. Over 58 percent of the KMT members with voting right cast their votes.

Wu Den-yih secured the lion's share of 144,408 votes, or 52.24 percent, to beat the other five candidates - the incumbent KMT chairwoman Hung Hsiu-chu, vice chairman Hau Lung-bin, former legislator Han Kuo-yu, former KMT vice chairman Steve Chan, as well as former legislator Pan Wei-kang, who garnered 53,063, 44,301, 16,141, 12,332 and 2,437 votes, respectively.

As per the party charter, a candidate wins the election with more than half the votes; otherwise, the top two candidates contest a second round.

Follow China.org.cn on Twitter and Facebook to join the conversation.
ChinaNews App Download
Print E-mail Bookmark and Share

Go to Forum >>0 Comment(s)

No comments.

Add your comments...

  • User Name Required
  • Your Comment
  • Enter the words you see:    
    Racist, abusive and off-topic comments may be removed by the moderator.
Send your storiesGet more from China.org.cnMobileRSSNewsletter