Germany name only one striker in World Cup squad

0 Comment(s)Print E-mail Xinhua, June 2, 2014
Adjust font size:

There is only one striker - veteran Miroslav Klose - listed in Germany's final group of 23.

Joachim Loew cut three players by naming Germany's official 23-men World Cup squad for Brazil, in an official statement by the German Soccer Association (DFB) on Monday.

Joachim Loew has cut three players, as the national team coaches had to submit their final 23-man squad for Brazil today to the FIFA. The German coach reduced his provisional 26-man squad to 23 players by cutting Dortmund's left back Marcel Schmelzer, Sampdoria's defender Shkodran Mustafi and Hoffenheim's striker Kevin Volland for the tournament in Brazil.

"I am really amazed how all players presented themselves in South Tyrol. Each player has done an excellent job. The players implemented what I had hoped for. They made our decision incredibly difficult. Of course Shkodran, Marcel and Kevin are very disappointed and I understand that as they had reasonable hopes to start in Brazil," Loew said in an official DFB statement.

As expected, Loew will rely on tried and tested personal, such as team captain Philipp Lahm, Manuel Neuer, Bastian Schweinsteiger and Sami Khedira, that will make the trip to the World Cup despite injuries.

"I am absolutely convinced of all the players. We have a harmonious blend of young talented players, and players with a lot of tournament experience. Our squad is balanced as each position is covered with two players. We fly confidently to Brazil where we have high aims."

The "Nationalmannschaft" encounter Armenia on June 6 for their last friendly before they depart to the World Cup from Frankfurt on June 7. Joachim Loew and his 23 men will be staying in the recently build resort called "Campo Bahia" in Santo Andre.

The Germans encounter Portugal for their first group match on June 16.

Germany's official 2014 FIFA World Cup squad:

Goalkeepers: Manuel Neuer (Bayern Munich), Roman Weidenfeller (Borussia Dortmund), Ron-Robert Zieler (Hannover)

Defenders: Jerome Boateng (Bayern Munich), Erik Durm (Borussia Dortmund), Kevin Grobkreutz (Borussia Dortmund), Benedikt Hoewedes (FC Schalke 04), Mats Hummels (Borussia Dortmund), Philipp Lahm (Bayern Munich), Per Mertesacker (Arsenal London)

Midfielders: Julian Draxler (Schalke), Matthias Ginter (Freiburg), Mario Gotze (Bayern Munich), Christoph Kramer (Monchengladbach), Sami Khedira (Real Madrid), Toni Kroos (Bayern Munich), Thomas Mueller (Bayern Munich), Mesut Oezil (Arsenal London), Lukas Podolski (Arsenal London), Marco Reus (Borussia Dortmund), Andre Schuerrle (Chelsea), Bastian Schweinsteiger (Bayern Munich)

Strikers: Miroslav Klose (Lazio)

Follow on Twitter and Facebook to join the conversation.
Print E-mail Bookmark and Share

Go to Forum >>0 Comment(s)

No comments.

Add your comments...

  • User Name Required
  • Your Comment
  • Enter the words you see:   
    Racist, abusive and off-topic comments may be removed by the moderator.
Send your storiesGet more from