China's Yangtze River Delta offers 144-hour visa-free entry

0 Comment(s)Print E-mail Xinhua, January 27, 2016
Adjust font size:

Shanghai, Jiangsu and Zhejiang will offer a 144-hour visa-free entry for international transit passengers from Jan. 30, in renewed efforts to boost business and tourism.

The new policy, unveiled Tuesday, covers travelers from 51 countries and regions, including the United States, Russia, Britain, Australia, France and Japan, the Ministry of Public Security announced on Tuesday.

They can enjoy a 144-hour stay in the Yangtze River Delta upon entry via Shanghai's air, sea and railway ports, Jiangsu Province's Nanjing Lukou International Airport and Zhejiang Province's Hangzhou Xiaoshan International Airport, providing they have third country visas and tickets to leave for a third country or region within 144 hours.

Shanghai, Zhejiang's capital Hangzhou and Jiangsu's capital Nanjing have allowed 72-hour visa-free entry for international transit passengers since 2013.

Under the previous policy, transit passengers could only enter through the airports of the three cities and were not allowed to travel to areas outside of the city.

Apart from doubling the time of their transit stay, the new policy also allows international passengers to travel to all three provincial areas in the Yangtze River Delta, an economic powerhouse in China.

The move signals intensified efforts to increase international tourism and commercial and trade cooperation as well as the flow of talent, the ministry said in a statement.

Follow on Twitter and Facebook to join the conversation.
Print E-mail Bookmark and Share

Go to Forum >>0 Comment(s)

No comments.

Add your comments...

  • User Name Required
  • Your Comment
  • Enter the words you see:   
    Racist, abusive and off-topic comments may be removed by the moderator.
Send your storiesGet more from