Past and present of China's stolen animal heads

By Chen Xia
0 Comment(s)Print E-mail, November 26, 2019
Adjust font size:


Portrait of Giuseppe Castiglione [File photo]

Giuseppe Castiglione (1688-1766), an Italian missionary in China, designed the 12 statues of the water clock fountain for Emperor Qianlong of the Qing Dynasty (1644-1911). 

Inspiration came from the Chinese Zodiac system, based on a twelve-year cycle, with each year related to an animal sign. In order, they are rat, ox, tiger, rabbit, dragon, snake, horse, goat, monkey, rooster, dog and pig. The cycle is calculated according to the Chinese lunar calendar.

<   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   >  

Follow on Twitter and Facebook to join the conversation.
ChinaNews App Download
Print E-mail Bookmark and Share

Go to Forum >>0 Comment(s)

No comments.

Add your comments...

  • User Name Required
  • Your Comment
  • Enter the words you see:    
    Racist, abusive and off-topic comments may be removed by the moderator.
Send your storiesGet more from