--- SEARCH ---
Learning Chinese
Learn to Cook Chinese Dishes
Exchange Rates
Hotel Service
China Calendar

Hot Links
China Development Gateway
Chinese Embassies

Manufacturers, Exporters, Wholesalers - Global trade starts here.

Wu Yi Among World's Most Influential Figures in IP

Vice Premier Wu Yi is has been named one of the 50 most influential people in the intellectual property world by Managing Intellectual Property magazine.


The second edition of the MIP 50, which names leading IP figures from business, government and the law, appears in the July/August issue.


In addition to Wu, China has three other representatives on the list: Judge Jiang Zhipei, academic Zheng Chengsi and State Intellectual Property Office head Wang Jingchuan.


Americans dominate the MIP 50, accounting for nearly half of the total. These include US Patent and Trademark Office director Jon Dudas, Judge Pauline Newman and International Trademark Association President Jacqueline Leimer.


Other prominent individuals from the Asia-Pacific region on the list include Indian intellectual property activist Vandana Shiva, Philip Yeo of the Singapore Economic Development Board, R.C. Lahoti, Chief Justice of India, Hitachi IP counsel Yasuo Sakuta and Japanese inventor Shuji Nakamura.


Managing Intellectual Property journalists and researchers in London, New York and Hong Kong compiled the list based on research among IP practitioners worldwide. Managing Intellectual Property is published monthly by Euromoney Institutional Investor PLC and was founded 14 years ago.


The MIP 50 (in alphabetical order)


Bob Armitage, Eli Lilly


Wubbo de Boer, OHIM


Mitch Bainwol, RIAA


Frits Bolkestein, European Commission


Todd Dickinson, GE


Jon Dudas, USPTO


Jannelly Fourtou, European Parliament


Tove Graulund, Arla Foods


Robin Gross, IP Justice


Mandy Haberman, inventor


Steve Jobs, Apple Computer


Francis Gurry, WIPO


Ian Harvey, BTG


Orrin Hatch, US Senate


Kamil Idris, WIPO


Jiang Zhipei, Supreme People's Court


Mike Kirk, American Intellectual Property Law Association


Ilias Konteas, UNICE


RC Lahoti, Chief Justice of India


Michael Leathes, BAT


Mr. Justice Hugh Laddie, Royal Courts of Justice


Jacqueline Leimer, Kraft Foods


Judge Fidelma Macken, European Court of Justice


The Right Honourable Beverley McLachlin, Supreme Court of Canada


Stephen Merrill, National Academies


Alexander von Mühlendahl, OHIM


The Honorable Justice Pauline Newman, Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit


Lucy Nichols, Nokia


David Nimmer, academic


Erik Nooteboom, European Commission


Shuji Nakamura, inventor


Marshall Phelps, Microsoft


Alain Pompidou, European Patent Office


Michael Robertson, CEO Lindows/Linspire


Ernesto Rubio, WIPO


Yasuo Sakuta, Hitachi


James Sensenbrenner, US House of Representatives


Vandana Shiva, Research Institute for Science, Technology and Ecology


Lamar Smith, US House of Representatives


Joseph Stiglitz, economist


Joseph Strauss, Max Planck Institute


Paul Twomey, ICANN


Jack Valenti, MPAA


Herb Wamsley, Intellectual Property Owners' Association


Wang Jingchuan, State Intellectual Property Office


John Ward, US district court judge


Wu Yi, Chinese vice premier


Philip Yeo, Singapore's Economic Development Board


Zheng Chengsi, academic


Robert Zoellick, US Trade Representative


(China Daily July 22, 2004)

China Welcomes US Proposal on Cutting Farm Subsidies
Ministers Hold Court in Tennis Team
Print This Page
Email This Page
About Us SiteMap Feedback
Copyright © China Internet Information Center. All Rights Reserved
E-mail: webmaster@china.org.cn Tel: 86-10-68326688