--- SEARCH ---
Learning Chinese
Learn to Cook Chinese Dishes
Exchange Rates

Hot Links
China Development Gateway
Chinese Embassies

New Team of Hong Kong Principal Officials Appointed
The Central People's Government has, on the nomination and recommendation of Chief Executive Tung Chee Hwa, approved the appointments of Principal Officials under the accountability system.

Also appointed are five Principal Officials heading the disciplined services, the Independent Commission Against Corruption and the Audit Commission for the second term of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region government.

The 14 Principal Officials are appointed under the accountability system on non-civil service terms for a period not exceeding five years.

Commenting on the appointments, Tung said, "I am delighted thatmore than half of my team have come from the civil service, and that I can retain and build on the experience, professionalism andexpertise of senior civil service colleagues."

He welcomed the five new members recruited from the business, professional and academic sectors to join the upper echelon of thegovernment. "They will bring in new talent, ideas and perspectivesin helping Hong Kong overcome challenges in the coming years," he said.

Principal Officials appointed are:

Chief Secretary for Administration, Donald Tsang Yam-kuen,

Financial Secretary, Antony Leung Kam-chung,

Secretary for Justice, Elsie Leung Oi-sie,

Secretary for Commerce, Industry and Technology, Henry Tang Ying-yen,

Secretary for Housing, Planning and Lands, Michael Suen Ming-yeung,

Secretary for Education and Manpower, Professor Arthur Li Kwok-cheung,

Secretary for Health, Welfare and Food, Dr Yeoh Eng-kiong,

Secretary for the Civil Service, Joseph Wong Wing-ping,

Secretary for Home Affairs, Dr Patrick Ho Chi-ping,

Secretary for Security, Regina Ip Lau Suk-yee,

Secretary for Economic Development and Labor, Stephen Ip Shu-kwan,

Secretary for the Environment, Transport and Works, Dr Sarah Liao Sau-tung,

Secretary for Financial Services and the Treasury, Frederick MaSi-hang, and

Secretary for Constitutional Affairs, Stephen Lam Sui-lung.

The five Principal Officials heading the disciplined services, the Independent Commission Against Corruption and Audit Commissionare:

Commissioner of Police Tsang Yam-pui,

Commissioner of Independent Commission Against Corruption, Ambrose Lee Siu-kwong,

Director of Audit, Dominic Chan Yin-tat,

Commissioner of Customs and Exercise, Raymond Wong Hung-chiu, and

Director of Immigration, Lai Tung-kwok.

(People's Daily June 24, 2002)

Print This Page | Email This Page
About Us SiteMap Feedback
Copyright © China Internet Information Center. All Rights Reserved
E-mail: webmaster@china.org.cn Tel: 86-10-68326688