The pagoda is in Baotong Temple in Luohong District, Wuhan. As the pagoda is situated on Mount Hong, it is commonly known as Mount Hong Pagoda. Its proper name, Lingji, has been forgotten.
Construction of the pagoda began in 1307 during the Yuan Dynasty and was completed in 1315. On the outer walls of the pagoda are eight tablets with inscriptions about the pagoda's history. The octagonal, seven-storey structure of brick and stone is forty-three meters high. The pagoda walls were constructed with stones inside and coated with bricks outside. Every storey has brackets, balconies and pent roofs. A staircase inside the pagoda leads to the top, where visitors can enjoy a full view of Wuhan and its surroundings.