Located in the south of the most popular scenic spot in Taiyuan, Jin Temple (originally called Fengsheng Temple), Sarira Shengsheng Pagoda is a 38-metre-tall octagonal brick structure of seven storeys. The eaves of the pagoda are decorated with glazed tiles and the steeple is made of a huge glazed bead. The whole structure looks majestic and sturdy.
The pagoda was first constructed between the late Sui Dynasty and the early Tang Dynasty. It was reconstructed first during the Song Dynasty, then in 1751 during the Qing Dynasty. The pagoda of today is the Qing Dynasty structure. During reconstruction a stone box was found in the underground chamber of the pagoda. Inside the stone box, was a silver casket, and inside the silver casket was a gold bottle containing a Buddhist relic. Inscribed on the cover of the stone box was an account of the reconstruction of the pagoda in 1039 during the Song Dynasty. According to Buddhist theory, a sarira, or relic, could be taken from the ashes of cremated Buddhist monks and could then constantly increase. This was the theory of "never exhausting generation after generation" sheng sheng bu jie in Chinese. Therefore, when the pagoda was reconstructed during the Song Dynasty, it was renamed the Sarira Shengsheng Pagoda.
Arched doors, some real, some ornamental, are on every side of the pagoda. Spiral staircases lead from the ground storey to the upper levels, so that visitors can enjoy the beautiful sight of Jin Temple and its surrounding landscape of Xuanweng Mountain.