--- SEARCH ---
Learning Chinese
Learn to Cook Chinese Dishes
Exchange Rates

Hot Links
China Development Gateway
Chinese Embassies

II. Famous Chinese Historical and Cultural Cities

So far, the Chinese government has listed 99 cities as famous Chinese historical and cultural cities under key protection, including the capital cities chosen by the emperors of various dynasties, politically and economically important cities during ancient times, places where important historical events took place, cities enjoying great reputations for their rare cultural relics and historical remains, and those famous for exquisite art works. These preserved cities are a window for people today to review Chinese history. The 99 cities are:

Municipalities directly under the Central Government: Beijing, Tianjin, Shanghai and Chongqing

Hebei Province: Baoding, Chengde, Zhengding and Handan cities

Shanxi Province: Datong City, and Pingyao, Xinjiang, Daixian and Qixian counties

Inner Mongolia Autonomous Region: Hohhot City

Heilongjiang Province: Harbin City

Jilin Province: Jinlin and Ji’an cities

Liaoning Province: Shenyang City

Jiangsu Province: Nanjing, Xuzhou, Huai’an, Zhenjiang, Changshu, Suzhou and Yangzhou cities

Zhejiang Province: Hangzhou, Shaoxing, Ningbo, Quzhou and Linhai cities

Fujian Province: Fuzhou, Quanzhou and Zhangzhou cities, and Changting County

Jiangxi Province: Nanchang, Ganzhou and Jingdezhen cities

Anhui Province: Bozhou City, and Shexian and Shouxian counties

Shandong Province: Jinan, Qufu, Qingdao, Liaocheng, Zoucheng and Zibo cities

Henan Province: Zhengzhou, Luoyang, Kaifeng, Anyang, Nanyang and Shangqiu cities, and Junxian County

Hubei Province: Wuhan, Jingzhou, Xiangfan, Suizhou and Zhongxiang cities

Hunan Province: Changsha and Yueyang cities

Guangdong Province: Guangzhou, Chaozhou, Zhaoqing, Foshan, Meizhou and Leizhou cities

Guangxi Zhuang Autonomous Region: Guilin and Liuzhou cities

Hainan Province: Qiongshan City

Sichuan Province: Chengdu, Zigong, Yibin, Langzhong, Leshan, Dujiangyan and Luzhou cities

Yunnan Province: Kunming and Dali cities, and Lijiang, Jianshui and Weishan counties

Guizhou Province: Zunyi City and Zhenyuan County

Tibet Autonomous Region: Lhasa and Xigaze cities, and Gyangze County

Shaanxi Province: Xi’an, Yan’an, Hancheng, Yulin, Xianyang and Hanzhong cities

Gansu Province: Zhangye, Wuwei, Dunhuang and Tianshui cities

Qinghai Province: Tongren County

Ningxia Hui Autonomous Region: Yinchuan City

Xinjiang Uygur Autonomous Region: Kashi City

Print This Page | Email This Page
About Us SiteMap Feedback
Copyright © China Internet Information Center. All Rights Reserved
E-mail: webmaster@china.org.cn Tel: 86-10-68326688