--- SEARCH ---
Learning Chinese
Learn to Cook Chinese Dishes
Exchange Rates
Hotel Service
China Calendar

Hot Links
China Development Gateway
Chinese Embassies

Central Military Commission

The Central Military Commission is the nation's leading military agency and head of its armed forces. The armed forces of the PRC consist of the Chinese People's Liberation Army ("PLA"), the Chinese People's Armed Police Force and the Militia. The PLA is the standing army of the state. The main tasks of the Armed Police Force include performing guard duties and maintaining public order. The Militia is an armed force of citizens who, when not on duty, remain engaged in their normal work and life. The Chairman of the Central Military Commission is Jiang Zemin. On March 16, 2003, the First Session of the 10th NPC, in accordance with nominations of Chairman Jiang Zemin, approved Hu Jintao, Guo Boxiong and Cao Gangchuan as vice chairmen and Xu Caihou, Liang Guanglie, Liao Xilong and Li Jinai as members of the CMC.


(Note: On March 13, 2005, the annual session of the National People's Congress, China's top legislature, approved Jiang Zemin's resignation from the chairmanship of the State CMC, and elected Hu Jintao to succeed him. Following Hu's nomination, the top legislature agreed to add four new members to the state Central Military Commission. It now has 11 members, including three vice chairmen: Guo Boxiong, Cao Gangchuan, Xu Caihou; and seven members: Liang Guanglie, Li Jinai, Liao Xilong, Chen Bingde, Qiao Qingchen, Zhang Dingfa and Jing Zhiyuan.)

Print This Page | Email This Page
About Us SiteMap Feedback
Copyright © China Internet Information Center. All Rights Reserved
E-mail: webmaster@china.org.cn Tel: 86-10-68326688