--- SEARCH ---
Learning Chinese
Learn to Cook Chinese Dishes
Exchange Rates
Hotel Service
China Calendar

Hot Links
China Development Gateway
Chinese Embassies

Online marketplace of Manufacturers & Wholesalers

Democratic Parties

Besides the CPC, there are another eight political parties; the China Revolutionary Committee of the Kuomintang, the China Democratic League, the China Democratic National Construction Association, the China Association for the Promotion of Democracy, the Chinese Peasants and Workers' Democratic Party, the China Zhi Gong Dang, the Jiusan Society, and the Taiwan Democratic Self-government League. They support the CPC leadership politically, which was the historic choice they made during the long years when they cooperated and fought side by side with the CPC. These democratic parties enjoy political freedom, organizational independence and lawful equality within the fixed scope of the Constitution. The basic principle of the cooperation between the CPC and the other parties is long-term coexistence, mutual supervision, sincere treatment with each other and the sharing of weal and woe.

The democratic parties are neither parties out of office nor opposition parties. They are parties fully participating in the political life of the nation. At present, all the standing committees of the people's congresses, the committees of the CPPCC, government organs at all levels, as well as economic, cultural, educational, scientific and technology and other departments have members of the democratic parties as leaders. For instance, the current chairpersons of the eight democratic parties' central committees hold vice-chairperson posts of the NPC Standing Committee and the CPPCC National Committee. The ranks of the democratic parties have also swelled, and today the total number of members of the democratic parties has reached over 600,000. All the provinces, autonomous regions and municipalities directly under the Central Government, and large and medium cities now have local and grass-roots organizations of the democratic parties.

The Eight Democratic Parties:
Name Date of Foundation  Main Constituents Chairperson of Central Committee
China Revolutionary Committee of the Kuomintang January 1948 

Former Kuomintang members and people  having historical connections with the Kuomintang 

He Luli
China Democratic League  October 1941  Higher and mid-level intellectuals 
Ding Shisun
China Democratic National Construction Association December 1945  Specialists,scholars and other people in the economic field  
Cheng Siwei 
China Association for the Promotion of Democracy December 1945

Intellectuals working in educational,cultural, scientific, publishing and other fields

Xu Jialu
Chinese Peasants and Workers' Democratic Party August 1930  Higher and mid-level intellectuals in medical, cultural, educational, and science and technology fields
Jiang Zhenghua
China Zhi Gong Dang October 1925 Returned overseas Chinese, relatives of overseas Chinese, and representative individuals and specialists and scholars with overseas connections 
Luo Haocai  
Jiusan Society December 1944

Higher and mid-level intellectuals working in science and technology, 
culture, education, and public health 

Han Qide
Taiwan Democratic Self-government League   November 1947  People born or with family roots in Taiwan  Province currently  residing on the mainland Zhang Kehui

Print This Page | Email This Page
About Us SiteMap Feedback
Copyright © China Internet Information Center. All Rights Reserved
E-mail: webmaster@china.org.cn Tel: 86-10-68326688