China has visa exemption agreements with 127 countries

Print E-mail, February 10, 2017
Adjust font size:

According to the Ministry of Public Security, the number of outbound and inbound citizens from the mainland has been on the rise in recent years, reaching 273 million trips in 2016.

Since 2015, departments of public security across the nation have fully implemented administration streamlining in services to facilitate people’s travel.

So far, China has signed visa exemption agreements with 127 countries, and reached simplified processing of passports with many countries.

According to a December 2015 policy from the Ministry of Public Security, hukou and copies of application materials for outbound and inbound travel will not be required for mainland citizens, and related information can be submitted online.

Today, only ID cards, photos and some basic materials are required, and applications for three certificates (passport, pass to and from Hong Kong and Macao, and pass to and from Taiwan) can be submitted at the same time.

Meanwhile, residents can also apply for the three certificates with ID cards and residence permits at all related local departments above the county-level since April 2016, instead of having to travel back to their hometowns or hukou-registered places. Exit and entry administration departments in Beijing, Shanghai, Guangdong, and several other provinces have installed self-service machines to provide rapid and free services to people.

In addition, authorities are also extending services to local police stations and county service centers, bringing convenient services to the front door of citizens.

Follow on Twitter and Facebook to join the conversation.
Print E-mail Bookmark and Share
Send your storiesGet more from