Ethnic Minorities

Print E-mail, June 25, 2014
Adjust font size:

In addition to its majority, the Han people, Sichuan is also inhabited by many ethnic groups, including 14 with at least 5,000 people each: the Yi, Tibetan, Qiang, Hui, Mongolian, Lisu, Manchu, Naxi, Bai, Bouyei, Dai, Zhuang, Miao and Tujia.

Sichuan has the second-largest Tibetan-inhabited region, as well as the largest Yi People-inhabited region and the only Qiang People-inhabited region in China.  

The Yi ethnic group, with the largest population of any minority in Sichuan, lives in the Greater and Lesser Liangshan mountains and the Anning River Valley. The Tibetans live in the Garze and Ngawa Tibetan Autonomous Prefectures and the Muli Tibetan Autonomous County in Liangshan Prefecture. The Qiang people, one of China's oldest ethnic groups, live mainly in Maoxian, Wenchuan, Heishui, Songpan and Beichuan in the upper reaches of the Minjiang River.

The majority of the ethnic minorities still keep their traditional lifestyles.

Follow on Twitter and Facebook to join the conversation.
Print E-mail Bookmark and Share
Send your storiesGet more from