Anhui Beijing Chongqing Fujian Gansu Guangdong Guangxi Guizhou Hainan Hebei
Heilongjiang Henan Hong Kong Hubei Hunan Inner Mongolia Jiangsu Jiangxi Jilin Liaoning
Macao Ningxia Qinghai Shaanxi Shandong Shanghai Shanxi Sichuan Taiwan Tianjin
Tibet Xinjiang Yunnan Zhejiang

Mayor: Dai Xianglong

Address of municipal government: 167 Dagu Road, Heping District

Tel: (22) 23305555 (government hotline)


Geographical location:

Tianjin is located in the northeast of the North China Plain, facing the Bohai Sea in the east, and seated against Mt. Yanshan in the north, lying between 38033'-400 15' N, and 116042' 118003'E. It adjoins Beijing in the north and borders on Tangshan, Chengde, Langfang and Cangzhou of Hebei Province in the east, west and south respectively. Its coastal line stretches about 133 km long. It covers an area of 11,305 square kilometers. The name of Tianjin first appeared in the early years of the Yongle reign of the Ming Dynasty, meaning the ferry port used by an emperor. In 1404, it became a military position of strategic importance, and construction of city walls and garrison installations began. The city was eventually called Tianjin Fort.

Copyright © China Internet Information Center. All Rights Reserved E-mail: Tel: 86-10-68326688